Lotus be friends…

20140123-081154.jpg
My name, Lakshmi, and the lotus go together. Most images we see of the Indian goddess Lakshmi has her seated in the blossoming lotus. Maybe that is why I adore the lotus so much.
In Hindu tradition, the lotus represents beauty, non-attachment, purity and resurrection. The lotus is rooted in the mud but floats on the water without becoming wet or muddy. As a lotus is able to emerge from the muddy waters unspoilt and pure it is considered to represent a wise and spiritually enlightened quality in a person; it is representative of somebody who carries out their tasks with little concern for any reward and with a full liberation from attachment.
“One who performs his duty without attachment, surrendering the results unto the Supreme Lord, is unaffected by sinful action, as the lotus leaf is untouched by water.”
— Bhagavad Gita 5.10

20140123-082321.jpg
Ubud is positively blooming with beautiful lotuses. Whether in a small stone bowl or a large pond they are everywhere you turn. Lotuses have the power to brighten even the murkiest pond. In 2014 I’m going to make a more conscious effort to be like the lotus. I want to be more considerate in my actions towards others and work on my attachment to my belongings. The path is long but at least if I am able to identify my faults I can skip along the path without straying too far away from it.

20140123-083432.jpg

20140123-085208.jpg

5 thoughts on “Lotus be friends…

  1. The photos are gorgeous, and I simply *love* the image of a lotus rising unspoiled from murky waters. As long as I have been aware of the lotus in faith, I never learned that part and it is a beautifully simple parable. If the lotus can do it, why not we?

I'd love to hear from you...

