A face only a mother could love…

20140115-092334.jpg
Bali is dotted with amazing carved stone statues. Everywhere you turn are little and large moss covered beauties. One type of statue that fascinates me is the demon statues or Butas, Kalas, and Butakalas as they are known as in Bali.

20140115-092957.jpg
Although I have referred to the statues here as demons they aren’t necessarily evil. They are more symbolic of the dual nature of ourselves and the spirits they represent. They remind us that we have more than one side to our life and personality. However some of them do have a face that only a mother could love…

20140115-094205.jpg

20140115-094256.jpg

20140115-094350.jpg

20140115-094424.jpg

10 thoughts on “A face only a mother could love…

  1. Your Bali posts take me back a year when I was there with my husband, and I had enjoyed myself absolutely every single moment! Thanks for the lovely photos and the memory revival! 🙂

    • That makes me so happy that my photos have brought back fond memories for you. Bali is such a special and spiritual place to visit. Our fantastic memories will last for ages. Thank you so much for getting in touch – Lakshmi x

I'd love to hear from you...

