A horse and cart in a city street? Yes…this is India!

One of things that I adore so much about India is the amazing things you see in such unlikely places.

On my last trip to Bangalore I saw this horse and cart transporting some wooden planks. “That sounds quite normal” I hear you say…but this cart was in Residency Road, one of Bangalore’s busiest streets. Bangalore is a city of 5.6 million people and in any other city in the world of this size a horse and cart in the main street would cause pure chaos. However in India no one even bats an eyelid. Auto-rickshaws, taxis, buses and cars just go around the cart and go about their business.

For me this is a real delight. It makes me so happy that a huge city can still embrace a slower pace in its very busy streets. I love that I can find it hard to cross the street because it is so busy but an old horse and cart can still amble up the busiest road in Bangalore

10 thoughts on “A horse and cart in a city street? Yes…this is India!

  1. Yes, I love it!

    I was talking about Indian traffic and we were saying that when one car gets in another’s way they just pause and then go around each other. In other places there’d be shouting and perhaps even violence. The Indian resident in the conversation said of course, because you know that yesterday it was you getting in someone else’s way. You just have to shrug and get on with it!

  2. Which place is this in Bangalore ? Very nice photo collections..looks like your trip to South India is over ?? I plan to put a collage of on my Blog as well….just not getting much time. Looking forward for more to read on your blog. Keep it up !!!

  3. Reblogged this on Flakey Blog and commented:
    Which place is this in Bangalore ? Very nice photo collections..looks like your trip to South India is over ?? I plan to put a collage2013 too on my Blog soon….just not getting much time. Looking forward for more to read on your blog. Keep it up !!!

I'd love to hear from you...

