Temple Elephant blessings…

With silver anklets, big enough to fit around my waist, jingling on each of her four perfect feet you will hear Lakshmi coming before you see her. As she sways gently down Rue Manakkula Vinayakar Covil everyone is delighted to see her. Lakshmi is, of course, the resident temple elephant at the Manakkula Vinayakar Temple in Pondicherry.

Each afternoon at around 5pm Lakshmi can be found out the front of the temple. For a few rupees you can receive a special blessing from her. You stand in front of her and pass your rupees to her minder. Lakshmi will then bless you by, ever so gently, placing her trunk on your head. It is truly one of the most special experiences in India and I never tire ofΒ this magical touch.

Silver anklets jingling, a glint inΒ your eye, a softness inΒ your steps and a giving heart…Lakshmi we love you!

18 thoughts on “Temple Elephant blessings…

  1. She used to be out in the early mornings as well; right after breakfast, I’d always welcome her blessing. Just didn’t seem right starting my day any other way. πŸ™‚

  2. I was in the temple last December and entered it just as it opened in the evening. There were a couple of people ahead of me and as I stood behind them waiting for my turn, I felt a gentle breeze down by back. I turned round to see what was happening and imagine my surprise when I see a jolly giant of an elephant’s trunk right in front of my nose.

    To my credit, I kept my calm and was blessed by the gentle giant. I felt as though Vinayaka himself came to me with blessings! πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for reminding me of this beautiful elephant blessing that I received when I was in Pondicherry a few years ago, I wonder if it’s the same elephant? x

  4. I just read of that terrible elephant train track accident that happened in India a few days ago. The mother elephant was stuck down a ravine with a broken leg and the vets set up an emergency hospital for her all the way down there. The surviving elephants went back to the scene of the accident, as if mourning. They are such amazing animals!

I'd love to hear from you...

