Padma’s secret passion is…

About to start my first japa mala...

About to start my first japa mala…

Padma, my darling Ma, celebrated her birthday on the weekend. Padma is so special to me and I wanted to find her a present that she would really love. I have been thinking for a while what that perfect gift might be.

Suddenly it dawned on me…what about Padma’s secret passion? Yes, her secret passion for…malas! She hardly wears any jewellery but instead dons a well selected mala to jazz up her outfit each day. So what is this japa mala that Padma loves so much. Japa malas or malas are a set of beads used by Hindus and Buddhists. In Sanskrit mala means a garland. It usually consists of 108 beads or a number divisible by nine. You use your mala to count as you recite your mantra. For example “om mane padme hum” or “om namo narayani”.

I have always wanted to make a mala myself. So last week I set out to combine the two and make a mala for Ma’s birthday. I went to a beading shop and purchased a few supplies. Padma’s favourite colours are pink, white and navy so my eyes scanned the shop for beads that fitted that description.

The beads laid out ready...

The beads laid out ready…

I then went home and put on my favourite Kirtan Alive disc, by Edo and Jo, and got started. It took me a while to get the hang of the knotting between the beads but after a while I got into a good rhythm. I recited my own mantra as I knotted all the beads. Finally, after I had attached my own, home-made tassel the mala was finished…YIPPEE!

My finished mala...

My finished mala…

Padma was delighted with the mala and for my first attempt it didn’t turn out too badly. I actually found making the mala to be the most wonderful and relaxing activity. I loved reciting my own mantra and infusing the mala with love and good intentions. I have now started on a second mala. I think malas are becoming my passion too!

More on making malas to come…

24 thoughts on “Padma’s secret passion is…

  1. What a beautiful mala you made! By giving you recieved. I just noticed your other blog “let beautiful happen” and it appears that is just what happened here! Namaste. Maureen

  2. “I recited my own mantra as I knotted all the beads.” – not only is your gift beautiful, but it now holds more meanings other than Padma’s birthday. =)

  3. Wow! That looks fantastic!

    I look forward to your post about the process of making them. I have 3 myself and I’ve always wondered how they were made. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

