With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair…

One of the joys of India is to catch a hint of jasmine from a hair garland as you pass someone in the street. These lovely flowers are worn by many Indian ladies on a daily basis. It is a cultural habit which I too have adopted each time I travel in India.

It is a favourite part of my day to get up early and visit the sweet flower sellers. In order to get the freshest flowers you need to be prompt as the best flowers sell out very quickly. Sometimes I will match the flowers with the colours I am wearing or otherwise I choose a bright, clashing hue to give a splash of colour to my day.

The few rupees you will spend will make you feel like a princess for the day and you’ll smell like one too…

8 thoughts on “With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair…

  1. This is such a lovely post. yesterday in my apartment building in Dubai I saw this south indian lady with white jasmine on her hair. I had this urge to just sniff it but instead I gave her a broad smile and she returned it. Bumping into her (and her flower embellished hair) was so refreshing.

I'd love to hear from you...

