Jain Hillside Temple in Madurai

Thank you to Krista for this lovely post…there are so many interesting things to do around Madurai.

3 Months In India

Our host decided to dress me up for my birthday.  I got an Indian outfit, pearl jewelry, and my hair done with flowers and a braid.  We drove to the hills where we were going to see a Jain cave temple.

At the bottom of the hill, a pond is filled with lotus flowers and gigantic fish.  Our host explained that it is part of the tradition of visiting holy sites to feed the fish. I have seen this at many temples, and it certainly explains why the fish were so fat.  Of course, I admire anything that has to do with appreciating nature’s creatures.

Our host led us up a tall staircase built into the side of the mountain.   The hill was so steep I took off my flip-flops ‘cause it felt like I was sliding out of them.  We stopped halfway up, where the staircase ended. Some…

View original post 184 more words

I'd love to hear from you...

