Lakshmi’s Indian Hotel picks ~ The Old Courtyard, Fort Cochin…

“Wherever I lay my hat that’s my home “…Marvin Gaye

I love the words to this song. Obviously when you travel you don’t want your hotel to be just like home otherwise you would never travel at all. However, when I travel, the hotels I stay in are my “home” for those few days. I don’t need the perfection of five-star hotels but I do look for certain things to make my stay perfect.

  • Cleanliness is top of the list. I don’t mind a little faded and jaded as long as it is clean.
  • Safe and secure.
  • Character is very important. I love staying at places with little details that catch the eye.
  • Location is the key to getting the most out of your stay.
  • Great staff are the icing on the cake that complete your stay.

If you are visiting Fort Cochin in Kerala, India The Old Courtyard ticks all these boxes. The character filled heritage building is located right in the heart of Fort Cochin in Princess Street (just around the corner from the Kashi Art Cafe). It’s rooms are light and airy and filled with quaint old antiques and crisp white bed-linen. My room overlooked the lovely lush courtyard and I could lie on my bed and watch squirrels chasing each other on the roof tops.

The tasty breakfast was included and the menu changed each day. The staff here were so friendly and chatty and were eager to help us with anything we needed.

After a few days at the perfect Old Courtyard Hotel I really was wishing it was my home…

9 thoughts on “Lakshmi’s Indian Hotel picks ~ The Old Courtyard, Fort Cochin…

  1. Man…. When I saw this post I got so excited!!! This is my best place to stay in Fort Cochin ever!!! Love the building, the rooms, the breakfast and the STAFF especially 🙂
    3 years ago I arrived here (again) early on the last day of my trip, sick as a dog (vomiting in the street sick) and was due to be picked up at midnight to go to the airport…
    I cannot tell you enough how amazing they were, checking on me every hour, and with their insistence I keep drinking their ginger/lime/soda concoction and take their Ayurvedic pills – I was able fly home vomit free. Seriously. ONE day and I was better!
    Beside this amazing care, they’re just wonderful and I can’t wait to see them again – love, love, love!!!

    • Wow…thank you so much for your reply Lisa. The staff here are exceptional and you sound like you had the BEST of care too! When you have kindness shown to you like that in such a time of need you always remember it. I do hope you get to return there one day 🙂 Lakshmi x

    • Thank you for your comments Suneesh…Kochi is divine. I have travelled there three times ~ I just love it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lakshmi’s Indian Hotel picks ~ The Old Courtyard, Fort Cochin… | E'n'M

I'd love to hear from you...

