The Gayatri Mantra ~ A Prayer to illuminate the intellect…

112

Are you feeling a little jaded today? Need a spiritual lift but don’t know where to turn? Well try the wonderful Gayatri mantra. This Indian mantra has always helped me to lift my energy level and refocus on the important aspects of my life.

GAYATRI MANTRA

Om Bhur Buvaha Swaha

Thath Savithur Varenyam

Bargo Devasya Deheemahi

Dhiyo Yonaha Prachodayat

This translates to:

On the absolute reality and its planes.

On that finest spiritual light.

We meditate as remover of obstacles.

That it may inspire and enlighten.

The Gayatri mantra can be recited using your japa mala or just quietly wherever you are comfortable. It is recommended that you recite it three times a day ~ morning, noon and night but you will find what suits you. I have a lovely copy on a CD that I listen to in the car.

This mantra is great for protecting you from harm and warding off misery. It is said to remove evil tendencies and implant virtuous habits. I find it calms the monkey mind and gives me a lasting feeling of peace and tranquility.

The following is a lovely version for you:

10 thoughts on “The Gayatri Mantra ~ A Prayer to illuminate the intellect…

  1. Lovely. It’s hypnotic, I don’t think I could be trusted drive with it playing, I’d float away and cause an accident 😉

  2. Pingback: Rewarding | Many Cha Cha

  3. Pingback: Some Intricate Details Of Gayatri Mantra Japa | Ramani's blog

I'd love to hear from you...

