The luscious lassi…

Lassi

Lassi at the Cha Bar, Bangalore…

One of my favourite drinks when travelling in India is the luscious lassi. There are three main types of lassi. The sweet lassi, salty lassi and fruit lassi (mango, banana etc…)

Not only are they delicious but good for you too. The yoghurt/curd used in the lassi helps to keep your tummy happy which is an extra bonus for those travelling in India. A lassi a day keeps the tummy bugs at bay!

I make lassis at home too. Here is my simple recipe for you to follow:

Sweet Lassi

  • 1.5 cups yoghurt/curd
  • 6-8 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup water or cold milk
  • 1 tsp rose-water (optional)
  • ice cubes when serving the lassi
  1. Place the yoghurt/curd, water/milk, sugar and rose-water in a blender.
  2. Blend till the lassi is smooth.
  3. Add ice cubes
  4. Serve and enjoy

If you would like a fruit lassi just add your desired fruit into the blender too.

When travelling in India you will find lassis on nearly all menus. Our family have road tested many lassis on our trips and although they vary widely they are all individually delicious.

Some great lassis can be enjoyed at:

The Cha Bar, Leela Galleria, Bangalore

Emgees Veggie Restaurant, MG Road, Bangalore

The Darling Restaurant, Vellore

Kashi Art Cafe, Fort Cochin

The Bangala Restaurant, Karaikudi

16 thoughts on “The luscious lassi…

  1. I love the sweet and fruit lassi but I think the salty lassi is definitely an aquired taste! Perhaps the salty lassi is like Vegemite is to Aussies………you have to be introduced to it in childhood to develope a taste for it.

  2. Wow, that sounds delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe. I tried a variety of lassi in India, and I had an awesome salted mango in Mumbai from a stand at Chow-patty beach that I won’t ever forget…. although that may have had more to do with the beach than the lassi 😛

    When the thaw comes in May here in Canada, I’ll give this a try. Right now it’s -43°C in Winnipeg, and if my drink isn’t hot, or at the very least warm, I’m not inclined to make it.

    Thank you also for a wonderful blog, especially your pictures. Your images and writings always bring me joy.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments…it means so much to me 🙂 I hope you enjoy your lassi when the weather warms up…

    • Actually the salty lassi is not my favourite…probably because of my sweet tooth 🙂 but its devotees love it! Yes you leave out the sugar and add a tiny bit of salt.

  3. Am dying for a sweet lassi right now… Since you mentioned about The Darling restaurant’ and I stay in Vellore these days, am going to dine there tonight and have some lassi 🙂 …

I'd love to hear from you...

