Phew…my hotel’s fabulous!

Tower House Hotel ~ Fort Cochin...

Tower House Hotel ~ Fort Cochin…

I don’t know about you but one of the greatest feelings of satisfaction for me on my travels is finding the perfect hotel. Lots of people are happy with “wherever I lay my hat that’s my home” but not me. I always feel that a great place to stay sets the tone for your holiday. I spend a lot of time before I leave home thoroughly researching on the internet and in guidebooks places to stay at my destination. I must be doing something right as I’m getting better at it! Fort Cochin is a perfect example. There are so many places to stay and the three I chose there were divine.

Tower House ~ Fort Cochin...

Tower House ~ Fort Cochin…

Everyone searches for something different when looking for a place to stay. So what do I look for? Here are my top prerequisites:

1. Something in the right price range.

2. Location, location, location. Sometimes I like to be in the thick of things right in the heart of town and other times somewhere quiet and peaceful.

3. Clean with en-suite bathroom.

4. I love quaint and charming. Even a little jaded and faded can be fantastic with me as long as it’s clean.

5. When travelling with my family they like a pool (optional), wi-fi and a TV. However when I travel with my mum,Padma, we just like wi-fi.

6. I want a hotel/guesthouse that when I arrive I can lie on the bed and let out a huge “Phew this is soooooo fabulous!”

Fort House ~ Fort Cochin...

Fort House ~ Fort Cochin…

So where to stay in Fort Cochin, Kerala? Well these are my top three…

The Tower House ~ Tower Road, Fort Cochin.

It prides itself as a “non-hotel” meaning it is more like an experience than just another chain hotel. It is jammed full of antiques and collectables. It has a divine pool, superb rooms and a lovely breakfast. It is minimally staffed and very quiet which we loved (however staff were always very attentive when we needed anything). It is located a stones throw from the Chinese fishing nets and the centre of Fort Cochin. You feel very safe walking around even at night which is important for female travellers. We loved it here…

The Old Courtyard Hotel ~ Fort Cochin...

The Old Courtyard Hotel ~ Fort Cochin…

The Old Courtyard ~ Princess Street, Fort Cochin.

We adored this old hotel located right in the heart of Fort Cochin. The rooms were so beautiful and filled with antiques. The sheets were crispy white (amazing for India). The breakfast was tasty and the staff were so friendly and chatty. It ticks all the boxes and is a great choice for Fort Cochin.

The Old Courtyard ~ Fort Cochin...

The Old Courtyard ~ Fort Cochin…

Delight Home Stay ~ Parade Ground, Ridsdale Road, Fort Cochin

The Delight Home Stay is a true delight. It is located a very short walk from the centre of Fort Cochin and is very close to many of the great shops I recommended in my last post on Fort Cochin. The owners David and Flowery are a mine of information and can organise your whole trip around Kerala if you desire. We did a short trip to Periyar National Park and the Kerala backwaters through them and we were delighted with the trip.

The Delight Home Stay ~ Fort Cochin...

The Delight Home Stay ~ Fort Cochin…

The rooms are charming and the garden green and lush. You won’t want to leave…I guarantee it.

Fort Cochin is a wonderful place to visit and should be on all itineraries when visiting Kerala. I hope you enjoy my recommendations as much as I did…

17 thoughts on “Phew…my hotel’s fabulous!

    • They range from 2,000-4500 rupees per night. I was travelling with my Mum so was able to split bill in two which made it cheaper 🙂

  1. Pingback: Fort Cochin -Kayalinarike! « Cleaning up the clutter

  2. I love seeing hotel recommendations like this, you know the person has actually been there and it’s not some “review” put onto a website by the owners and all their family posing as “guests”. Excellent photos 🙂

    • I love reviews by fellow travellers too. Finding a great hotel is the icing on the cake after a full day of travelling. Thank you so much for stopping by…

I'd love to hear from you...

